CBSE Affl. No: 3630073

CBSE Affl. No: 3630073


What are Cambridge AS & A Levels?

The Cambridge Advanced Subsidiary (AS Level) & Advanced Level (A Level) programme is pre-university programme conducted by the Cambridge Assessment International Education formerly called as Cambridge International Examinations (CIE), United Kingdom.

The Cambridge AS or A Level programme is the gateway to the most prestigious universities worldwide; track records in academic excellence will be resulted in the successful placement into top universities of their choice.

Why Cambridge International AS and A Levels?

Cambridge International AS and A Levels are international in outlook, but retain a local relevance. The syllabuses provide opportunities for contextualised learning and the content has been created to suit a wide variety of schools, avoid cultural bias and develop essential lifelong skills, including creative thinking and problem-solving, also balancing knowledge, understanding skills to enable candidates to become effective learners and to provide a solid foundation for their continuing educational journey.

Cambridge International AS and A Level

  • give learners building blocks for an individualised curriculum that develops their knowledge, understanding skills.
  • curriculum is flexible. It is possible to offer almost any combination from a wide range of subjects.
  • A Level is typically a two-year course and Cambridge International.
  • AS Level is typically one year.
  • Some subjects can be started as a Cambridge International AS Level and extended to a Cambridge International

The subject choices for last two years of school can have a significant impact on the course options available at university.

When assessing applicants, we consider not only the individual subjects taken, but also the combination of subjects. We generally prefer applicants to have taken certain subjects, or combinations of subjects, because we believe that they are more likely to provide an effective preparation for study at the University.

International Recognition:

On top of receiving qualification from CIE, students who complete their Cambridge A Levels receive international recognition from the Top Universities worldwide including those from the UK, North America, Australia and the European Union.

Australian Universities:

1. University of Melbourne
2. University of Queensland
3. Australian National University
4. University of Canberra
5. Australian Catholic University
6. Blue Mountains International Hotel Management
7. Charles Sturt University
8. Macquarie University
9. Southern Cross University
10. SP Jain School of Global Management, Sydney
11. University of New England

12. University of New South Wales
13. University of Newcastle
14. University of Sydney
15. University of Technology, Sydney
16. University of Wollongong
17. Western Sydney University
18. Charles Darwin University
19. Bond University
20. CQ University
21. Griffith University
22. James Cook University

23. Queensland University of Technology
24. University of Queensland
25. University of Southern Queensland
26. Flinders University
27. University of Adelaide
28. University of South Australia
29. University of Tasmania
30. Curtin University
31. Edith Cowan University
32. Murdoch University

33. University of Notre Dame Australia
34. University of Western Australia
35. Deakin University
36. Federation University of Australia
37. La Trobe University
38. Monash University
39. RMIT University
40. Swinburne University of Technology
41. University of Melbourne
42.Victoria University

UK Universities:

1. University of Oxford
2. University of Cambridge
3. Imperial College London
4. University College London (UCL)
5. King’s College London
6. University of Edinburgh
7. University of Manchester

8. University of Bristol
9. Durham University
10. St George’s, University of London
11. Manchester University
12. Newcastle University
13. University of St Andrews
14. London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

USA Universities:

1. Boston University
2. Brown University
3. California Institute of Technology (Caltech)
4. California State University, Los Angeles
5. Columbia University
6. Cornell University
7. Duke University
8. Florida State University
9. Harvard

10. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
11. New York University
12. Pennsylvania State University
13. Stanford University
14. The University of Texas at Austin
15. University of Maryland, College Park
16. University of Southern California
17. University of Washington
18. Yale University

Subjects offered @ GIIS


  1. Biology (9700)
  2. Chemistry (9701)
  3. Physics (9702)
  4. Mathematics (9709)


  1. English – Language (9093)
  2. French (9716)
  3. Hindi (9687)
  4. Telugu (9690)


  1. Accounting (9706)
  2. Business Studies (9707)
  3. Economics (9708)


  1. Information Technology (9626)
  2. Art and Design (9479)
  3. Global Perspectives & Research (9239)
  4. Psychology (9698)

The General Certificate of Education Advanced Level, or A Level, is the ‘gold standard’ of Cambridge qualifications. It is accepted as an entry qualification by universities of elsewhere around the world. Cambridge International A Levels are taken throughout the world. A Level examinations are usually taken after 13 years of education and are based on approximately 360 hours of guided learning per subject, normally over a two year period. A Levels are highly specialised and a student will normally take three subjects, although occasionally exceptional students take four or five.

There are six passing grades (A* – E). Typical UK university entrance requirements are above three passes at grade C for academic courses in established universities. Very popular courses will often require higher grades.

For example, medical schools in the UK often require grades of AAB and the highly selective universities of Cambridge and Oxford ask for at least AAA. Good A Level grades can also be a key to admission for all the world’s major universities. University course credit and advanced standing is often available in countries such as the USA and Canada, where entrance to university takes place after 12 years of education. Good grades in carefully chosen A Level subjects can result in up to one full year of credit. Read about using your Cambridge qualifications to study in USA in this brochure.

The subject content of each of the A Level syllabuses has been subdivided into two parts: the AS syllabus content which is expected to be covered in the first half of the course, and part two of the syllabus commonly referred to as ‘A2’. This flexible approach enables students to choose from three options:

  • Take all A Level components in the same examination session at the end of a course of study, usually at the end of the second year (Year 13)
  • Follow a staged assessment to an A Level by taking the AS qualification in one examination session, and the A2 assessment in a subsequent session.
  • Take the AS qualification only – either at the end of a one-year or two-year course.