CBSE Affl. No: 3630073

CBSE Affl. No: 3630073


Assessment for Cambridge IGCSE includes written and oral tests. In most subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities. Each learner’s performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades. There are clear guidelines which explain the standard of achievement for different grades. Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions at GIIS are held once a year in the month of March. However student is assessed periodically throughout the year.


Cambridge Checkpoint tests have been designed to assess learning at the end of Cambridge Secondary 1. They are available in English, Mathematics and Science, and give valuable feedback on learners’ strengths and weaknesses before they progress to the next stage of education.

Cambridge Checkpoint in grade VIII provides feedback on learners’ strengths and weaknesses in English, Mathematics and Science. Learners receive a Statement of Achievement which gives an indication of their academic progress during this education stage.

Scores on the Cambridge Checkpoint scale are from 0.0 (the lowest level of ability) to 6.0 (the highest level of ability).

Students achieving more than 5.0 have an excellent understanding of the curriculum content.

Students achieving between 3.0 and 4.0 have a sound understanding of most of the curriculum content.

Students achieving less than 2.0 have a basic understanding of the curriculum content. They would benefit from more focus on some areas of the curriculum.


The grading system is as follows:

Extended curriculum:

Percent Grade
90 – 100 A*
80 – 89 A
70 – 79 B
60 – 69 C
50 – 59 D
40 – 49 E
30 – 39 F
20 – 29 G
Below 20 U

Note: Grade boundaries are subjected to change every year according to the grade threshold.

Core Curriculum
  • C to G only (A* to B is not awarded)
  • Cambridge ICE (International Certificate of Education) is a group award for Cambridge IGCSE, and is very popular in the USA and South America.
  • Cambridge ICE is awarded to the one who passes examinations in at least seven subjects from five different subject groups, including two different languages.